The Association of Lancastrians in London was founded in 1892 by 28 Lancastrians living or working in London. On February 23 of that year, they met for their first Annual Dinner with Samuel Pope, QC in the chair. The story of the Association and its first one hundred years has been documented in the book “The First One Hundred Years”. Click to Download

The Presidency of the Association usually lasts for one year and a new President is appointed at each Annual General Meeting.

Past Presidents of the Association

2023 Lord Lee of Trafford

2022 The Rt Hon The Lord McNally of Blackpool

2020/21 Alderman Dr Sir Andrew Parmley

2018/19 Dr Johnny Ball, TV and entertainment

2016/17 Mr Adrian Waddingham CBE

2014/15 Sir Paul Clarke KCVO, Clerk to the Duchy

2013 Mrs Pamela Filer MBE, Pioneer Victim Support

2012 Hon Dame Jill Black DBE, Lady Justice of Appeal

2011 Sir David Bean QC, later Lord Justice of Appeal

2010 JRL Nuttall. Greenwich University

2009 Sir Brian Smith CBE

2008 The Hon Sir Richard McCombe QC, later Lord Justice of Appeal

2006/7 Denis E. Filer CBE TD F. Eng, engineer

2005 Dr Alan Hayes CBE FRSC

2004 Sir France Kennedy KCMG CBE, First Chancellor University of Central Lancashire

2003 Rowland S Young

2001/2 Lord Taylor of Blackburn FCBE JPDL LLD, politician Co-Founder Lancaster University

2000 Sir Michael Ridley KCVO, clerk to the Duchy

1999 Air Vice-Marshall George Lamb CB CBE AFC, known as Larry, pilot in the Berlin airlift

1998 The Rt Hon Lord Hacking, barrister and arbitrator

1997 The Right Hon the Lord Shuttleworth, Lord Lieutenant of Lancashire

1996 Baroness Dean of Thornton-le-Fylde, Trade Unionist

1995 Thomas P Frost, banker

1994 Robert B Dunn, F. Eng

1993 Sir Brian Smith CBE, Chairman ICI

1992 Sir William Barlow F. Eng, engineer

1991 Rt Hon Frank Cooper PC GCB CMG Permanent Secretary MOD Director

1990 2nd Lord Clitheroe DL. Chemical Industry, Banking

1988-89 Air Marshal Sir Herbert Durkin KBE CB, electrical engineer and Past President IEE

1987-88 His Hon Judge Thomas Pigot QC, Common Serjeant

1986-87 The 6th Lord Shuttleworth, surveyor, Burnley and National & Provincial Building Societies

1985-86 His Hon Judge J S R Abdela TD QC, Old Bailey judge

1984-85 Miss Thora Hird OBE, later Dame Thora Hird DBE, comedienne and actress

1983-84 Sir William Barlow F. Eng President of the Royal Academy of Engineering

1982-83 Col Sir Eric St Johnston CBE QPM, Chief Constable of Lancashire, Inspector of Constabulary

1981-82 Dame Rose Heilbron DBE, judge, Family Division

1980-81 Sir John Tilney TD JP, Former MP, Minister, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

1979-80 Herbert Butler, Burnley Building Society

1978-79 Hon Donald Kershaw JP, Marie Curie Foundation

1977-78 The Hon Sir Joseph Cantley OBE, judge

1976-77 Lord Stokes TD DL, British Leyland

1975-76 Sir Desmond Heap, Comptroller and City solicitor

1974-75 Sir Geoffrey Jackson, Ambassador to Uruguay

1973-74 Eric Cheadle CBE (later Sir Eric Cheadle)

1972-73 Lord Robens PC

1971-72 Hon David Hacking (Succeeded as 3rd Lord Hacking while President), Barrister and US Attorney

1970-71 Rt Rev and Rt Hon Dr R W Stopford, Bishop of London, Dean of Chapels Royal, Bishop of Bermuda

1969-70 Sir John Peel KCVO, Queen’s Gynaecologist

1968-69 Leslie Lever later Lord Lever of Ardwick, solicitor and Lord Mayor of Manchester

1967-68 The 2nd Lord Hacking, solicitor

1966-67 Sir Douglas Glover TD, MP for Ormskirk

1965-66 Sir Milner Holland KCVO QC Attorney General of the Duchy of Lancaster

1964-65 Lord Robens PC, Chairman National Coal Board


1963-64 1st Lord Clitheroe PC KCVO DL, Ralph Assheton Former MP and Lord Lieutenant of Lancashire

1962-63 Sir Robert Burrows KBE, coal, insurance, banking

1961-62 Eric Cheadle, Newspapers

1960-61 Hon Lord Justice Seller MC, Lord Justice of Appeal

1959-60 Major Sir Brunel Cohen KBE, former MP Liverpool

1958-59 Jack Hylton, Impresario

1957-58 Lord Justice Ormerod PC, Lord Justice of Appeal

1956-57 Lord Kershaw OBE JP. Marie Curie Foundation

1955-56 2nd Lord Hacking, solicitor

1954-55 18th Earl of Derby, Constable of Lancaster Castle

1951-54 Lord Woolton PC CH DL, Lewis’s Investment Trust Chancellor of the Duchy, Minister for Food in WWII

1950-51 Sir Alfred Wood, Sugar beet pioneer.

1950 Lord Hacking PC OBE DL JP, former MP for Chorley

1948-49 Rt Hon Sir Norman Birkett PC. Created Lord Birkett of Ulverston, Advocate Lord Justice of Appeal

1938-39 Sir Frank Bowater Bart GBE DSO TD, Lord Mayor of London and grandfather of current Sheriff Alderman William Russell and actor Damien Lewis

1937-38 The Hon Mr Justice Atkinson (Sir Cyril Atkinson), Former MP for Altrincham

1935-37 Lord Hewart of Bury

1934-35 Major Sir William Prescott (later Bart), former MP Barrister and Chairman Metropolitan Water Board

1933-34 The 7th Earl of Sefton, Constable Lancaster Castle Lord Mayor of Liverpool

1931-33 Hon Lord Stanley MP PC MC DL. Cabinet Minister

1930-31 2nd Viscount Leverhulme, Lever Brothers

1928-30 The Hon Mr Justice Swift (Sir Rigby Swift) Former MP, King’s Bench and Recorder of Wigan

1927-28 17th Earl of Derby

1925-26 Lord Colwyn PC Former MP, textiles and rubber

1923-25 Rt Hon Gordon Hewart PC, later Viscount Hewart of Bury, Lord Chief Justice

1922-23 Sir James Patron, Former Mayor of Southport

1921-22 Lt Col Sir Henry Grayson Bart, Shipping (first to record his Presidency in Who’s Who)

1919-21 Col. Thomas Openshaw FRCS CB CMG, Army Surgeon who investigated Jack the Ripper

1917-19 Sir Edward Holden Bart, Former MP for Haywood

1916-17 Sir William Dunn Bart, MP, Lord Mayor of London

1915-16 Sir Charles Wakefield later Viscount. Wakefield, Lord Mayor. Wakefield Gold Trophy for speed.

1914-15 Sir Charles Johnston, Lord Mayor of London

1913-14 Sir Thomas Vansittart Bowater, Bart, Paper maker and Lord Mayor of London

1912-13 The Hon Arthur Stanley MP, Diplomat Red Cross

1911-12 Lord Shuttleworth PC, Former Chancellor of Duchy

1910-11 17th Earl of Derby KG PC GCB GCVO, Cabinet Minister and Ambassador to France

1909-10 Sir Henry Holland MP, later Lord Rotherham

1908-09 The Hon Sir Joseph Walton QC, Recorder of Wigan

1907-08 Sir William Lever MP, later Lord Leverhulme

1906-07 Rt Hon Alfred Emmott PC MP, Cabinet Minister

1905-06 Octavius Leigh-Clare KC MP, Vice Chancellor of the Duchy

1904-05 2nd Earl of Lathom

1903-04 The Rt Hon Lord Stanley MP (later Earl of Derby)

1902-03 Sir Joseph Lawrence MP

1901-02 Sir John Bigham KC (Viscount Mersey), President Probate, Divorce Admiralty Division

1900-01 Sir Joseph Lawrence MP Manchester Ship Canal

1900 Sir W H Houldsworth Bart, Manchester MP

1899 16th Earl of Derby PC GCB Governor General of Canada

1894-98 1st Earl of Lathom PC GCB 2nd Lord Skelmersdale, Lord Chamberlain

1892-93 Samuel Pope QC, Recorder of Bolton